The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award Unveils 2022 Watch List

November 04, 2022

Johnny Unitas

Baltimore, MD– The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc., along with presenting sponsor A. O. Smith Corporation, announce the 2022 class of Golden Arm Award candidates. This is the largest selection of active quarterbacks in the history of the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, representing 76 schools around the nation. All 10 FBS conferences, as well as a football independent, are represented on the list. The Big Ten leads the way with 13 preseason selections.

The preseason Watch List, semifinalists, finalists, and award recipient are selected by the distinguished Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Selection Committee, a group of prominent college football journalists, commentators, announcers, and former players. The award annually recognizes the top senior or upperclassman quarterback set to graduate with their class. Candidates are chosen based on player performance on-and-off the field as we head into the 2022 college football season.

2022 Golden Arm Award Watch List Presented by A. O. Smith
  • Holton Ahlers, East Carolina
  • Brennan Armstrong, Virginia
  • Hank Bachmeier, Boise State
  • Connor Bazelak, Indiana
  • Stetson Bennett, Georgia
  • Gerry Bohanon, South Florida
  • Logan Bonner, Utah State
  • Charlie Brewer, Liberty
  • Chase Brice, Appalachian State
  • Davis Brin, Tulsa
  • Braxton Burmeister, San Diego State
  • Zach Calzada, Auburn
  • Hudson Card, Texas
  • Sean Clifford, Penn State
  • Chase Cunningham, Middle Tennessee
  • Malik Cunningham, Louisville
  • Jayden Daniels, LSU
  • JT Daniels, West Virginia
  • Tommy DeVito, Illinois
  • Jarret Doege, Western Kentucky
  • Max Duggan, TCU
  • Dequan Finn, Toledo
  • Dillon Gabriel, Oklahoma
  • Jake Haener, Fresno State
  • Jaren Hall, BYU
  • Sam Hartman, Wake Forest
  • Ryan Hilinski, Northwestern
  • Hendon Hooker, Tennessee
  • Dylan Hopkins, UAB
  • KJ Jefferson, Arkansas
  • Phil Jurkovec, Boston College
  • Haynes King, Texas A&M
  • Devin Leary, NC State
  • Will Levis, Kentucky
  • Brendon Lewis, Colorado
  • Rocky Lombardi, Northern Illinois
  • Adrian Martinez, Kansas State
  • D’Wan Mathis, Temple    
  • Grayson McCall, Coastal Carolina
  • Tanner McKee, Stanford
  • Cade McNamara, Michigan
  • Graham Mertz, Wisconsin
  • Tanner Mordecai, SMU
  • Tanner Morgan, Minnesota
  • Dylan Morris, Washington
  • Bo Nix, Oregon
  • Chance Nolan, Oregon State
  • Aidan O’Connell, Purdue
  • N’Kosi Perry, Florida Atlantic
  • Spencer Petras, Iowa
  • Jack Plummer, California
  • Michael Pratt, Tulane
  • Spencer Rattler, South Carolina
  • Chris Reynolds, Charlotte
  • Anthony Richardson, Florida
  • Daniel Richardson, Central Michigan
  • Cameron Rising, Utah
  • Will Rogers, Mississippi State
  • Kurtis Rourke, Ohio
  • Spencer Sanders, Oklahoma State
  • Tyler Shough, Texas Tech
  • Garrett Shrader, Syracuse
  • Jeff Sims, Georgia Tech
  • Kedon Slovis, Pittsburgh
  • C.J. Stroud, Ohio State
  • Taulia Tagovailoa, Maryland
  • Casey Thompson, Nebraska
  • Dorian Thompson-Robinson, UCLA
  • Payton Thorne, Michigan State
  • Jordan Travis, Florida State
  • Clayton Tune, Houston
  • DJ Uiagalelei, Clemson
  • Tyler Van Dyke, Miami
  • Grant Wells, Virginia Tech
  • Hayden Wolff, Old Dominion
  • Bryce Young, Alabama

The namesake of the Golden Arm Award has a storied history. Johnny Unitas was an 18-year veteran of the NFL, who played his collegiate career at the University of Louisville before joining the Baltimore Colts in 1958. His career passing figures include 2,830 pass completions for 40,239 yards, 290 touchdowns and throwing a touchdown pass in 47 consecutive games.

The 2022 award winner will be presented the Golden Arm Award trophy by The Johnny Unitas Educational Foundation President, John Unitas, Jr., at the Golden Arm Award banquet and celebration at the Four Seasons Hotel in Baltimore, Maryland on Wednesday, December 7, 2022.

Giving life to the commitment to give back, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and presenting sponsor A. O. Smith continue to promote football on all levels by providing financial aid to deserving young scholar athletes. A. O. Smith is committed to creating innovative solutions that set new standards in the water heating industry.

Return To News Room

Why A. O. Smith?

Market Leader

A. O. Smith is a leading manufacturer of both residential and commercial water heating technologies, including the #1 most specified commercial water heater.

Commitment to Innovation

For more than 145 years, we’ve developed state-of-the art products that push new boundaries and improve the lives of our customers.

Best-In-Class Support

We combine cutting-edge technology with committed people who take pride in providing the very best support for our customers.

Unmatched Quality

Our products are put through rigorous quality and endurance testing so now matter where hot water is needed, A. O. Smith can provide a solution you can count on.

Learn more about A. O. Smith