List of Candidates for the 2018 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® Presented by A.O. Smith Cut to Top 30

October 5, 2018

BALTIMORE, MD. (October 5, 2018) – The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® presented by A. O. Smith has narrowed its 2018 season watch list to 30 of the country’s top college quarterbacks.

After five weeks of play, the Golden Arm Award Selection Committee selected the remaining nominees based on player performance on-and-off the field. Candidates must be a college senior or fourth-year junior on schedule to graduate with their class.

Remaining candidates for the prestigious annual award are:

David Blough, Purdue
Jake Browning, Washington
K.J. Carta-Samuels, Colorado State
Taylor Cornelius, Oklahoma State
Eric Dungey, Syracuse
Ryan Finley, NC State
Ty Gangi, Nevada
Will Grier, West Virginia
Justice Hansen, Arkansas State
Justin Herbert, Oregon
Tyler Huntley, Utah
Tyree Jackson, Buffalo
Drew Lock, Missouri
Trace McSorley, Penn State
Marcus McMaryion, Fresno State
McKenzie Milton , UCF
Gardner Minshew, Washington State
Steven Montez, Colorado
James Morgan, FIU
Shea Patterson, Michigan
Bryce Perkins, Virginia
Gus Ragland, Miami of Ohio
Brett Rypien, Boise State
Kyle Shurmur, Vanderbilt
Jarrett Stidham, Auburn
Jordan Ta’amu, Ole Miss
Khalil Tate, Arizona
Clayton Thorson, Northwestern
Brady White, Memphis
Manny Wilkins, Arizona State

Giving life to the commitment to give back, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. and presenting sponsor A.O. Smith continue to promote football on all levels by providing financial aid to deserving young scholar athletes. A. O. Smith is committed to creating innovative solutions that set new standards for their industry, just like Unitas did in football.

Proceeds donated to the Golden Arm Award help support the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, which provides assistance to underprivileged and deserving student-athletes throughout Maryland and Kentucky.

The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® ceremony will be held on December 7, 2018 in Baltimore, Maryland.

The hashtag #InnovationLeaders will be visible on all Johnny Unitas Educational Foundation and Golden Arm Award® advertising, marketing, social media, website, and public relations materials and represents the commitment to always being leaders through innovation. Branded content and advertising will promote the award along with A. O. Smith’s products and services.

Other sponsors of the Golden Arm Award Presented by A. O. Smith Corporation include: MedStar Sports Medicine, The Babe Ruth Museum, Cannonball Moments, Century Engineering, Comcast, Dunbar Armored, Dunbar Security Solutions, Dunbar Protective Services, The Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor & The Grand, Haddock Investments, Harvey Agency, HMS Insurance Associates, Inc., PSAV, Panini, TTI, TRAY, The Scott Garceau Show, SILKS, Wilson Sporting Goods, and ZBest Executive & Global Transportation Services.

About A. O. Smith
A. O. Smith Corporation is a leading global manufacturer and marketer of residential and commercial water heaters as well as water treatment products. A. O. Smith offers its customers an additional competitive advantage in that the company designs, builds, distributes and supports the world’s broadest and deepest line of residential and commercial water heaters, commercial boilers, and water treatment products. This single source concept simplifies ordering, installation and service and is backed by 80 years of research and innovation. For the most up-to-date news, like A. O. Smith on Facebook, follow on Twitterand visit

To learn more about the Golden Arm Award, please visit: Golden Arm Foundation or Golden Arm Award. Additionally, please follow the conversation throughout the season on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook and use the hashtags #GoldenArmAward and #InnovationLeaders.